Sleeping Like A Bauhausler
Bauhaus on holidays.
The Studio Building was completed in 1926. It is also called "Prellerhaus", referring to the Studio Building at Bauhaus Weimar, which was named after Friedrich Preller. Back then, the 28 studio flats with about 24 squaremeters were let to junior masters and promising students. Inhabitants were Josef Albers, Erich Consemüller, Herbert Bayer, Franz Ehrlich, Walter Peterhans, Hannes Meyer, Joost Schmidt or Marcel Breuer. Not to mention the female residents form the first, so-called "ladies floor": Gertrud Arndt, Marianne Brandt, Gunta Stölzl or Anni Albers.
Today, the studio flats are let to visitors. Since October 2013, staying at one of the 1920s-style Bauhaus dorm rooms is even more of an experience: One room was accurately reconstructed with original objects and furniture. The rest of the rooms will be personalized to reflect a former habitant, beginning with Alfred Arndt, the couple Albers and Franz Ehrlich.