Gucci Museo - Florence
The story of the legendary brand founded in 1921 by Guccio Gucci.
The museum is installed in a 14th century building, the Pallazzo della Mercanzia, (formerly the trade court) on the Piazza Signoria. Inside, 1700 square meters with a café, a library, a gift shop, a space dedicated to contemporary art and, well, the museum.
The ground floor hosts the Gucci caffè and restaurant, a meeting space that not only welcomes visitors into the museum, but also provides a new and attractive gathering place for Florentines and tourists alike. In the spirit of today's connected age, visitors may take advantage of a social area for a coffee or to go online using the museum’s wireless network. The philosophy of the restaurant is to offer a seasonal menu made from local biological ingredients sourced from the region of Tuscany and nearby.
The famous quote from Aldo Gucci, Guccio’s son starts the tour. Eighty years later the man is still right.
The museum takes three stories, the ground floor is dedicated to luggages, Guccio Gucci having started to sell his trunks while he was doorman at the Savoy hotel. The other two stories, displays the Flora print, handbags, ball gowns, jewels.
This Seville Cadillac from 1976 is entirely made of Gucci symbols: chrome steel rims with a logo-hubcap, green and red stripes, monogrammed hood and many more…